Today’s Tuesday $aver!

Does preparing lunch for the week stress you out? Do you find yourself too busy with life to prepare lunch? Do you end up stepping out to buy a sandwich, raiding the vending machine, or worse driving to the take-out window and picking up a burger w/fries? You may skip lunch all together and come home from work saying “I’m starving!!” and grab anything handy to munch on.

We all fall victim to what I have described above and I know you don’t need me to tell you that this is not a healthy way to eat!
The consequences of skipping meals can lead to developing diabetes, inadequate nutrition, and drastically altering the way that your body digests food. One of the most important reasons skipping meals is unhealthy is due to the affect it has on your blood sugar. When you eat a meal, your body breaks up the food. Some of this food is stored as fat, while other parts of it enter your bloodstream as sugar, and work to provide you with energy throughout the day. When you skip a meal, your blood sugar drops considerably. This not only makes you feel sluggish and tired, but it can also mess with the insulin in your body. If you chronically skip meals, you can be setting yourself up for diabetes later in life.

Consistently eating a diet that is rich in fruits, vegetables, whole grains, and proteins helps to not only ensure that your body functions properly, but can also help in the treatment and prevention of a number of serious conditions. But how do you fit it all in?

One thing that I have learned over the past few months is to stock up on fruits and veggies when I do my sunday grocery shopping. I prepare all fruits and veggies that night– cut up carrots and celery into sticks, put fresh fruit out into a fruit bowl that is visible. Fruits and veggies need to be handy & already prepared for you to grab & go! Out of sight-Out of mind!

In the morning when I am getting ready for work I take a large food storage bag and fill it about half way with the veggies that I have in the fridge. In this particular example I used: leafy greens from salad mix, carrot sticks, cut yellow and red peppers, cubed celery, & radish.

To make sure that I include a protein, I opted to have tuna salad with this lunch. I wanted to experiment with cilantro, so I added chopped cilantro with onion and pickle in my tuna salad mix. (Refrigerate in a container, don’t include with veggie medly until ready to eat.)

At lunch time, I simply pour my salad mix out of the bag and into a bowl with the tuna salad on the side. Voila! My healthy lunch is ready and it cost less than $5!  Try a veggie medley of your own and tell us what’s in your bag!

Additional note: Maybe you noticed previously in this post I wrote how I wanted to experiment with cilantro? 🙂 Cilantro is an herb that I am in love with this summer! I have been experimenting with it frequently, my next 4 segments will focus on fun ways to use cilantro! Cilantro isn’t just a commonly-used leaf and seed ingredient found in many tasty and exotic recipes, it’s also a powerful natural cleansing agent. It has been effectively used to help remove toxic agents from the body… so go buy a bushel of cilantro and get ready for your taste buds to be tantalized!

Enjoy!

In health,

Reve~Johanna

Leave a Reply

