Ch-Ch-Ch Chia!

Did you know chia seed are among the healthiest foods on the planet! They are loaded with nutrients that benefit both your brain and your body. Don’t be fooled by their tiny size, there itsy bitsy black seeds pack a nutritional punch. We are talking about fiber, antioxidants, healthy fat, calcium, magnesium, zinc, potassium, vitamin B 1, 2, & 3! To top things off, chia seeds are a “whole grain” food, are usually grown organically, are non-GMO and naturally free of gluten.

Chia seeds are a high quality protein source, and in case you didn’t know, protein has all sorts of benefits for health. A high protein intake reduces appetite and has been shown to reduce obsessive thoughts about food by 60% and the desire for night time snacking by 50%. Why? Because the protein keeps you feeling fuller longer.

Chia seeds are incredibly easy to incorporate into your diet. The seeds themselves taste rather bland, so you can add them to pretty much anything.

They also don’t need to be ground like flax seeds, which makes them much easier to prepare. They can be eaten raw, soaked in juice, added to porridges and puddings, or incorporated into baked goods.

You can sprinkle them on top of cereal, yogurt, vegetables or rice dishes.

Because of their ability to absorb both water and fat, they can be used to thicken sauces and even used as egg substitutes in recipes. Just mix with water and turned into a gel which binds and thickens.

Adding chia seeds to recipes will dramatically boost the nutritional value of any meal or snack.

Here’s a recipe I tried for “Banana Chia Pudding” – light and perfectly sweet, healthy treat, that is dairy-free, low-carb and no sugar added.

Enjoy!
Johanna

Banana Chia Pudding
The possibilities for ingredients are really endless, but this one has just three:

banana
almond coconut milk
chia seeds

image

1 ripe banana
1/4 cup almond coconut milk
2 Tablespoons chia seeds
*Dash of cinnamon, cardamom, natural honey optional

Banana Chia Pudding Directions

In a food processor or blender, combine the banana and almond coconut milk.

Process until smooth.

Throw in the chia seeds and pulse a few times to mix evenly.

Pour into a container and chill for an hour to let the chia seeds plump up a bit.

image

13 thoughts on “Ch-Ch-Ch Chia!

  1. Yum – this looks so yummy! I love chia seeds and like to put them on oatmeal or throw them in salads. They are so easy to incorporate into my everyday food! i am a big fan. 🙂

  2. This recipe looks delicious, I am going to have to try it soon. It is important to learn ways to incorporate healthy foods into our diets. Thanks for the ideas for using this wonderful food!

  3. I had been using chia seeds in smoothies for about a year, but last March while visiting my cousin I really fell in love with them. I was so tired and drained from a busy weekend. The morning I was leaving she made some oatmeal. She added nuts and chia seeds to it. I had so much energy that day! To this day I add chia seeds to my oatmeal and I love it! Thanks for sharing this recipe! I can add it to my collection!

  4. This sounds amazing! I will definitely need to try it. I absolutely love chia seed for so many things. It is one type of fiber my body tolerates very well and it is so versatile and easy to add in. I am a big fan of chia seed pudding, it is so much healthier than the alternative. Thank you for sharing this recipe (and making me excited to get home and try it out!)

Leave a Reply

