Green Goodness: Asparagus

One of the first foods that signals the start of spring is the appearance fresh greens! A gem in particular that I love is asparagus at my local farmers’ markets and grocery stores. Just as spring is a time of new beginnings, asparagus is one of those veggies that I love to experiment with during this time of year. Below is one experiment example, asparagus vichyssoise – but before we go there, I want you to know WHY asparagus is so awesome.

Check this out: 7 powerful health benefits of asparagus you probably didn’t know (from WebMD):

1. Asparagus is a good source of fiber and protein, both essential for good digestion and immunity.

2. It contains a number of anti-inflammatory compounds that protect you from type 2 diabetes and heart disease.

3. It has antioxidants, including one called glutathione, which is known to protect the skin from sun damage, pollution and the effects of aging.

4. The Vitamin K in asparagus is excellent for healthy blood clotting and strengthening bones.

5. Asparagus contains a unique carb called inulin, which remains undigested until it reaches the large intestine, where it helps to absorb nutrients better, and cut the risk of colon cancer.

6.Good news for those struggling to manage their blood sugar: asparagus is a rich source of B vitamins, which are known to regulate blood sugar levels.

7. Green asparagus contains vitamin A for better vision, potassium for smooth kidney functioning, and trace minerals that help boost immunity.

Now as promised, here’s my asparagus vichyssoise … Drumroll please……

Recipe: Asparagus Vichyssoise

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 tablespoons butter or extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 leeks, trimmed, well-washed and chopped and 1 yellow onion
  • 1 pound thin asparagus, trimmed and cut into 1-inch lengths
  •  Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste
  • 5 cups vegetablestock
  • 1 cup white wine or half-and-half, optional
  • *(Optional – top with chives & sugar free whipped cream)
  • PREPARATION

    1. Put butter or oil in a large, deep saucepan and turn heat to medium. When butter melts or oil is hot, add vegetables. If you like, set aside 12 or 16 of the nicest pieces of asparagus; parboil in salted water for about 2 minutes and use as a garnish for the soup. Season with salt and pepper and cook, stirring, for 2 to 3 minutes.
    2. Add stock and wine (if using) cook until vegetables are very tender, about 15 minutes. 
    3. Purée soup in batches until very smooth. Chill. (Though vichyssoise is served cool, this soup could also be served warm.) Top with whipped cream, if using, taste and adjust seasoning, garnish if you like, and serve.

    4. In health,
    5. Johanna

 

9 thoughts on “Green Goodness: Asparagus

  1. My mother-in-law always made canned asparagus for the holidays and I couldn’t stand it. In fact when I was pregnant just the smell made me sick to my stomach. So I thought that I just didn’t like asparagus. Then I tasted fresh asparagus, now it is one of my very favorite vegetables. I roast it in the oven with a little olive oil, salt and pepper…delicious! Your vichyssoise looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it.

  2. I had no idea asparagus was a source of glutathione! Very cool! We LOVE asparagus, especially roasted. I live in Phoenix so I’m always on the lookout for cold soups. I’m definitely going to give this a try. Thank you!

  3. Excellent Johanna. Glutathione is crucial for hepatic detoxification. What a perfect source. We enjoy making an asparagus salad by peeling part of the stem with a vegetable peeler, making for a crunchy texture. The remainder we steam or grill.

  4. Asparagus is one of our favorites! I have never prepared it in a soup before, this looks like a great new spin on a wonderful vegetable. I love how you include all of the health benefits as well. Thank you for sharing this, we will have to try it out soon!

  5. I love asparagus too and I love soup even more. I’m one of those crazy people that eat soup any time of year. I will be trying this out for sure. I try to mix up my breakfasts and eat soup some mornings. Thank you for this!

  6. Yum, Johanna!! I love asparagus. I am serious… I cannot wait to try this recipe. I need to go to Farmer’s Market this weekend and attempt this. Do you think I could do in my Vitamix?

Leave a Reply

